Message in a bottle.

[Sorry, I tried to post this last night but WP kept posting a blank one]

“Of all sad words of tongue or pen,
The saddest are these: ‘It might have been!’” 
American poet John Greenleaf Whittier (1807-1892)

Of all the books I’ve read, it’s often the period books that stick with me. Just simple ideas like maintaining relationships through intimate letters thoroughly appeals to me and yet, this is an art form we seem to be losing and have replaced it with emails and texts where messages are sent in a rush of words. Often we’re adhering to maximum characters length or thinking about how much it’ll cost us to send.

I’d love to recapture the magic of sending and receiving letters, so I was thrilled to hear about a challenge called A Month of Letters. I’m not sure if I have enough friends to write to every day this month, but I will certainly have a go!

Day One: my best friend (Lucy).

I sent her a record card filled with our quotes and memories of events that were precious to us. I had great fun quickly writing it out.

I received a message from her today online:

😀 Bwahahahahahahahaha!!! I’m sat here doing this out loud and stupidly loudly!!! Your letter has made me do this :D!!!! Lots!!!! and made my day a whole lot brighter and now things don’t seem so bad.
I Love You!!!

I’m loving that such a simple gesture can have an affect like that!

Day Two: my niece (Ami).

I actually really want to start and maintain letter writing to my niece. She’s only six at present and I want her to grow up loving the written word, as I do. To feel the magic of receiving letters and cards, purely because you can send them. More so given she’s growing up in a generation that don’t use such media anymore unless it’s for bills and junk mail (even that’s going online).

I particularly want to do this as I really don’t see her as often as I should and I’d like her to know that I still think about her even if I’m not around regularly.

Are you taking part? I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Author

5 responses to “Message in a bottle.

  1. I agree. The art of writing letters and cards and sending them to people is dying. It is sad and I’d so much rather receive something in the mail then just turn on my computer. Receiving a letter or card is much more personal and gives you feelings no email or text ever could. Thank you for writing this post. I’m happy to see I am not the only one feels this way.

    • I totally agree. I love them! It is so much more personal, but I couldn’t even tell you what a lot of my friend’s handwriting looks like these days. You certainly aren’t the only one, I’m just struggling to find addresses lol! I’ve even been looking for nice letter sets but it seems rare that anywhere sells them now.

  2. Just wanted to let you know I visited the A Month of Letters website and signed up to take part. This is going to be fun!

  3. Left-Brained Business for Write-Brained People

    Gosh, your title really does say it all. Letter writing is becoming as antiquated as messages in a bottle sent before the advent of post offices and mail. Our lives are becoming so fast paced, we can’t slow down to even write a note anymore. I saw a news segment just a few months ago about the majority of US schools forgoing penmanship in the elementary and middle school grades, saying kids just keyboard all the time anyway. We’re not only raising a generation who doesn’t know how to write letters, but will likely have difficulty reading cursive writing. Amazing.

    What you’re doing with your niece is terrific! This is a wonderful project to help her connect with the written word, and be excited about what may be in her mailbox each day.

    Joanie

Leave a Reply

