Forward, ho!

For those of you participating in ROW80, I previously entered under a different blog http://www.blog.co.uk/user/koldham/ but have moved to WordPress since so many of you are here, and it seems so much more appropriate for the purpose. I’m also operating under the name I wish to be known for amongst fellow writers. Also, sorry for the spelling error on the linky from ROW80 – please forgive me!

Well, a thoroughly productive night that has seen me wander around the community of WordPress, essentially meeting and greeting. I have also viewed so many helpful blogs, articles and external sites that I hope to come back to again.

What’s even more thrilling though is hitting targets or, more specifically, smashing them. For http://aroundofwordsin80days.wordpress.com/blog/ I set myself a daily goal of 750 words which, for the most part, I found achievable. It just became more difficult if my breaks were shorter at work but I always managed to make that up on my day off.

The last couple of days though, I have wanted to push myself a bit harder to try to get a feel for what it would be like if I was writing full time. Whilst I have still been quite lax, as in I haven’t been writing solidly, I have had regular breaks and I have been browsing various networks, I have still achieved 5135 words today which brings my WIP total to 17625!

I am ecstatic! And, in total, it’s only about 2.5 hours work – how amazing is that? If I continue to do this on my days off then I should have the novel’s draft complete approximately within a month.

I’m obviously going to need to do some more planning and brainstorming as I’ve sped my way through several chapters, many of which will need more adding to it later on down the line, but I have the bare bones there to work with which is thrilling to me.

In other news…

In my wanderings I have spotted a few things I would like to look into further such as http://www.write1sub1.com/ that encourages you to work towards getting more of your work ‘out there’.

I am ensuring I have at least 2 or 3 days off work to get stuck into the novel. I really want to write seriously and, as much as I’d love to have the extra cash, I’ve given myself a bit of a head start with the two weeks of working 6 shifts each week. Once I sell the car I can then pay for the two day courses I want to do in February with http://www.stephenlloydtraining.co.uk/index.htm

From Friday I will be making more of an effort to make more home cooked foods (if you have any simple and cheap recipes for meals or baked goods you’d recommend, please do let me know).

This week I have also decided to take a more active interest in promoting myself as a writer. I’ve been ‘getting out there’, I have set up the WordPress account under my pseudonym and set up a facebook fanpage https://www.facebook.com/KellyCautillo

This following week I aim to:

  • x1 blog post a week provisionally set for Friday re: social issues etc as per the ideas outlined in my post yesterday about philanthropy and humanitarianism.
  • 5,000 words (WIP) on each day off.
  • Read x2 books a week for http://www.bookchickcity.com/2011/12/sign-up-100-books-in-year-reading.html  (may use my breaks for this, rather than writing).
  • Try x1 new recipe a week.
  • Bake x1 batch of biscuits/loaf etc a week or as needed.
  • Take some of baked goods/meal for Mum and Ian whenever I make.
  • Walk to the train station (2 miles) – do not cheat – when going to work.
  • Drink more juice/water – not to count coffee/tea.
  • Continue to network and post relevant material through my fb author page https://www.facebook.com/KellyCautillo
  • Compile a list of ideas for short stories and blog posts.

Quite a hefty plan I dare say. But I quite like pushing and testing myself. I actually don’t feel tired from this kind of work, but to push myself at work… that’s a different story. lol.

I hope everyone’s have a great time going through their work and I look forward to hearing from you!

Kelly.

22 Comments

Filed under Author

22 responses to “Forward, ho!

  1. I love your enthusiasm! For me, it’s delightful and serious play…..

    I will be back to check in with you! =D

    • Thank you 😀 I’m loving my enthusiasm too! ha! I was on such a major downer from about Oct so it’s refreshing to have a change of pace now I’m throwing my energies into something I actually really want to do.

      See you soon!

  2. spaciireth

    Congrats on your awesome results this week! 😄 Your list of goals is rather epic, best of luck with it!

  3. That is an awful lot of goals! Very specific, too. I’m bad at specifying, because I fear failure. It’s not enough for me to try – I have to succeed.
    Meh.

    • Me too! But I refuse to accept failure. I make my goals so public so that I wouldn’t only be disappointing myself, but I’d also have to admit to the community that I didn’t achieve what I set out to do.

      Whilst I’m sure the community is very forgiving, I would simply just not allow it. lol.

  4. Sounds like a good week! 🙂 And 5k in one day is awesome!! Congrats on that. I write on my work breaks, as well, then try to finish up at home. Keep up the good work and steady progress.

  5. great work Kelly, love that you have moved over here! lol Liking the cooking goals! I’m checking out Arvon for a writing retreat this year http://www.arvonfoundation.org/p1.html Good luck with the week ahead.

    • I couldn’t resist! lol. The other blog didn’t really seem to have a particularly interactive writer community, everyone seemed quite insular. They were rather surprised when you did comment, as if you were reading their diary or something.

      Oh, that does sound fascinating! I bet it’s expensive though.

  6. Ryan King

    Hefty plan, yes. But you’re rocking it out. I’m sure you’ll succeed! Good luck 🙂

  7. Congrats on the writing goal – that’s fantastic and something to be proud of! Hope the rest of your week is just as stellar no matter what you do 🙂

    Marie

  8. Wow, wow, wow!! Over 5K a day??!?! Impressive and inspiring! Hefty plans make for spectacular successes! Good for you!

    I can’t wait to the next check in to see how you are doing. I suspect you’ll do nothing short of amazing!

    P.S. Since you’re making some extra biscuits…I’d be happy to sample a few! 😀

    • We’ll have a Biscuit Bash – a biscuit for x amount of words! Woo! lol. I need some nice recipes first though 😦

      Aw thank you so much for the comment, I hope for such “spectacular successes” also. ❤

  9. Wow! 5k words in one day?! Awesome! Keep up the great job.

  10. I and also my friends happened to be looking at the nice suggestions found on the blog while unexpectedly developed a horrible suspicion I had not expressed respect to the blog owner for those tips. My people are actually as a result happy to read through all of them and now have very much been taking pleasure in these things. I appreciate you for genuinely very accommodating and then for picking out this sort of essential areas millions of individuals are really desperate to learn about. Our own honest apologies for not saying thanks to you sooner.

  11. Kelly, I like the way you’ve figured out how to get it done…I keep wondering if I should switch to WordPress, hmmm. You are doing great and make me feel enthusiastic!

    • come join us 😀 Ha! We’ll get the world over here. Some parts of WordPress seem overly complicated, like searching for other blogs. I also seem to not have all the followed blogs actually listed under ‘blogs I follow’, but I’m sure I’ll get used to it.

      I’m getting there! lol. I feel very confident about this project, almost like any previous project was just training for this one. It will still need a lot of work though, but I know what work needs doing which is amazing for me to be able to identify that.

Leave a Reply

