And so it begins.

Definition of PHILANTHROPY

1
:goodwill to fellow members of the human race; especially: active effort to promote human welfare
2
a: an act or gift done or made for humanitarian purposes b: an organization distributing or supported by funds set aside for humanitarian purposes
In the world we live in today, the odds are when reading the above definition many people will either think: “Oh no, not another hippy!” or “Yawn! Bring on the action!” If either of those are applicable to you, then I suggest you move on. Yes, that’s right. I am fine with you not following me.
That said, I’m not perfect. I want to be a ‘better person’ for me, and for others. I’d like to be the ‘good example’ though, in the early stages, I will no doubt be looking to others.
Why this post?

This is the precursor to all other posts. Whilst this will be my author platform to mark out goals, keep up to date with targets, and so forth. Posts of what I believe to be ‘real substance’ will be around the society, social changes, attitudes, culture, and people as individuals. I aim for much of this to lean towards humanitarianism and philanthropy.

Are you a hippy?

To be honest, my mum used to describe me as one when I was in my teens. I even went dressed as a hippy for a friend’s fancy dress party when he turned 17. However, I don’t actively follow any doctrine of sorts that would actually have me labelled as one. Sure, I have long hair. Sure, I like bright colours. Sure, I’m even partial to home cooked foods and natural fibres. It’s just awfully expensive to follow on a day-to-day basis. Plus, I’m not really a big fan of all those things that hippies apparently do like ‘free love‘, drugs and being dirty. (Calm down people, I know this isn’t the way it really is.)

Are you going to give everything you own to charity?

In a word: No. Hypocrite you may well cry but I have very few items of worth anyway, so there’s little that would be of use. I’m also partial to my daily comforts like heating, hot water and bedding. I would love, at some point in the future, to go off somewhere where there is little in the way of luxuries to just ‘pitch in’ and lend a hand so that I appreciate more what I am fortunate enough to have. That day is not today but if you know of any schemes or organisations that are set up, I would be very grateful for that information.

So, you love everyone.

Actually, no I don’t. There are a select few that I ‘love’ which include close family and friends. There are others that I like to have in my life. This will slowly peter out into ‘tolerable’ and ‘actively avoid’. Yes, believe it or not kids, there are people in the world I actually find very grating (you may find that I’m one of them to you).

I prefer to follow the teaching of “harm none”. I try to avoid harmful gossip, or ‘shit stirring’ as some may know it better, but I do fail from time to time. As I say, I’m human and therefore I have a tendency to make mistakes. What is important is that you learn from them and try to avoid making the same ones.

In order to keep my sanity, and prevent the possibility of murdering select individuals, I take the necessary steps to remove them or me from harm’s way. Whether that be preventing contact, reducing accessibility or taking myself away from a situation; it really depends on the person or incident.

But you’re going to preach to me?

I hope not. My sole purpose here is to encourage people to have an open mind, to deal with people the way they like to be treated, and I hope that people will reflect on their actions or beliefs.

If you feel there is nothing you wish to change, then that is fine. It is your life and your prerogative to do nothing, if that is your desire.

If, on the other hand, you do believe that society has many great failings and want to explore them with me (since I’m new to this also), I would be super glad of the company on my lifelong journey.

See you on the road!

Kelly.

2 Comments

Filed under Author

2 responses to “And so it begins.

  1. Great article. Thank you to tell us more useful information. I am looking forward to reading more of your articles in the future.

Leave a Reply

